Category: General Fiction

Sort

Showing 4241-4260 of 4279

Image for CHIEFS

CHIEFS

By: Woods, Stuart

Price: ¥400.00

Publisher: Avon: 1999

Seller ID: RWARE0000012823

ISBN: 0380703475

Condition: Very Good+


In the winter of I 1920, the first body is found in Delano, Georgia-the nak ed, brutalized corpse of a young boy. It Is a crime too horrific to be igno red; the first of many that will span four decades, embroiling three separa te police chiefs in a remarkable manhunt that will expose the hatreds, fear s, dark secrets and festering wounds beneath the surface of their sleepy Go d-fearing community. View more info

Image for DEAD EYES

DEAD EYES

By: Woods, Stuart

Price: ¥350.00

Publisher: HarperTorch: 1994

Inscription: Signed

Seller ID: RWARE0000017025

ISBN: 006109157X

Condition: Very Good


"The first letter arrived on a Monday." So begins the masterfully paced thr iller from the author of Palindrome , Santa Fe Rules , etc. Young Hollywood actress Chris Callaway is poised at the brink of stardom when her world co llapses. Shortly after she begins receiving disquieting letters signed "Adm irer," she is nearly blinded in a fall at the construction site of her new Malibu home. As Admirer becomes a menacing stalker, sending gifts and a gru esome... View more info

Image for DIRT

DIRT

By: Woods, Stuart

Price: ¥400.00

Publisher: HarperTorch: 1997

Seller ID: RWARE0000013995

ISBN: 0061094234

Condition: Very Good


Woods seems to write smooth and solid thrillers as fast as most of us read them. Cop-turned-lawyer Stone Barrington of New York Dead returns with all his street smarts intact in this story about a powerful gossipmonger who ha s the tables turned when dirty pictures of her start appearing on fax machi nes across the country. The characters are so rich, famous, and upscale tha t you might get a nosebleed, but Woods has a light, deft touch that makes t he book hard to resis... View more info

Image for FRESH DISASTERS

FRESH DISASTERS

By: Woods, Stuart

Price: ¥500.00

Publisher: Signet: 2007

Seller ID: RWARE0000016816

ISBN: 0451221656

Condition: As New


A crisp clean softcover (as new). Smooth-talking New York lawyer Stone Barrington, along with his sidekick, NYPD detective Dino Bacchetti, get dragged into an impossible case in Stone's entertaining 13th outing (after Dark Harbor). Stone's bosses at the high-class law firm of Woodman and Weld want him to sue major league Mafia don Carmine Dattila for beating up a character from earlier Stone adventures, the hapless Herbie Fisher. It's all pretty much good fun--the snappy... View more info

Image for MOUNTING FEARS

MOUNTING FEARS

By: Woods, Stuart

Price: ¥650.00

Publisher: Signet: 2009

Seller ID: RWARE0000016770

ISBN: 0451227751

Condition: As New


A crisp clean softcover (as new). In bestseller Woodss uninspired sixth Will Lee thriller (after Capital Crim es), the incumbent U.S. president, William Jefferson Lee, faces a series of crises in an election year: his vice president has died during surgery; a nuclear warhead is missing in Pakistan and believed to be in the hands of a terrorist group possibly connected to al-Qaeda; and an independent preside ntial candidate, a charismatic minister, has erased Lees once si... View more info

DIRTY WORK

By: Woods, Stuart

Price: ¥1,000.00

Publisher: Putnam Adult: 2003

Edition: First

Seller ID: RWARE0000009009

ISBN: 0399149821

Condition: Near Fine/Near Fine


A highly collectible first edition, protected in a new brodart wrapper,no i nscriptions or underlining, this is not a 'BOMC' ex-library book; Woods's new mystery is as sleek and engaging as the upper-class lifestyle of its appealing hero, ex-cop-cum-lawyer-cum-private investigator Stone Barrington. Woods (Blood Orchid) rewards Stone (and readers) by bringing back the beautiful British intelligence agent, code-named Carpenter, who first appeared in The Short Forever, the... View more info

SHOOT HIM IF HE RUNS

By: Woods, Stuart

Price: ¥1,000.00

Publisher: Putnam Adult: 2007

Edition: First

Seller ID: RWARE0000014628

ISBN: 0399154442

Condition: Very Good/Very Good


A nice clean first edition, protected in a new brodart wrapper. Stone Barrington and Holly Barker, Woods's longtime investigative and romantic duo, search for a rogue CIA agent on a beautiful tropical island in this low-voltage thriller. At the request of U.S. President Will Lee, Barrington and Barker travel to the Caribbean island of St. Marks to track down Teddy Fay, an agent-turned-assassin who has been on the loose for years. They find a mix of luxurious beach clubs,... View more info

DEEP LIE

By: Woods, Stuart

Price: ¥500.00

Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS: 1998

Seller ID: RWARE0000041119

ISBN: 0061044490

Condition: Good


The classic techno-thriller of superpower espionage from New York Times bes tselling master of suspense Stuart Woods! Sifting through reams of seemingly unrelated intelligence, CIA analyst Kath erine Rule discovers a chilling pattern: an ultrasecret Baltic submarine ba se...a crafty Russian spy-master in command...a carefully planned invasion about to be launched from dark waters. Her suspicions, however, are dismissed by those higher up; her theory, they say, is too c... View more info

CAPITAL CRIMES

By: Woods, Stuart

Price: ¥450.00

Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group: 2004

Seller ID: RWARE0000041118

ISBN: 0451211561

Condition: Good


Will Lee, the courageous and uncompromising senator from Georgia, is back-- now as President of the United States--in the fifth book in the New York Ti mes bestselling series that began with Chiefs. When a prominent conservative politician is killed inside his lakeside cabi n, authorities have no suspect in sight. And two more deaths--seemingly iso lated incidents, achieved by very different means--might be linked to the s ame murderer. With the help of his CIA director... View more info

HEAT

By: Woods, Stuart

Price: ¥400.00

Publisher: Harper Paperbacks: 1995

Seller ID: RWARE0000013943

ISBN: 0061093580

Condition: Good


Woods's sixth novel in three years is likely to follow its predecessors ( L .A. Times , etc.) onto bestseller lists. In this artfully plotted thriller, ex-DEA agent Jesse Warden, wrongly convicted of a murder he suspects was t he work of Dan Barker, his former superior, is offered a chance at a presid ential pardon if he will infiltrate the sinister religious cult that has ta ken control of St. Clair, Idaho. Despite knowing that he will again be unde r the control of Bar... View more info

MRS. DALLOWAY

By: Woolf, Virginia

Price: ¥650.00

Publisher: Harcourt: 1990

Seller ID: RWARE0000043041

ISBN: 0151628629

Condition: Very Good/Very Good


A copy that has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. A poignant portrayal of the thoughts and events that comprise one day in a woman's life. View more info

PILATE

By: Wordsworth, Alan

Price: ¥3,000.00

Publisher: Minerva Press: 1999

Edition: First

Seller ID: RWARE0000015696

ISBN: 0754102688

Condition: Very Good+


A tight clean softcover, this book has been inscribed by the author above a book plate of previous owner. Judea in the first century AD - a land aflame with passions. In this cauldron, the governor, Pontius Pilate, tries to prevent the violence, but is often drawn into the conflict himself. This often unstable period of Roman and Jewish history is evoked in detail in this fictional account. View more info

Image for LAST LOVER

LAST LOVER

By: Wormer, Laura Van

Price: ¥300.00

Publisher: Mira: 2001

Seller ID: RWARE0000000045

ISBN: 155166836X

Condition: Very Good


Sally Harrington think she's in the best relationship of her life. She's a Connecticut journalist, he's a Manhattan book editor and they're playing fo r keeps. But in the course of forty-eight hours, Sally finds her love life skidding wildly off the road of respectability, her career spiraling into o blivion, her bank account emptying to zero and herself publicly exposed. All because of one lover, the last lover, Spencer Hawes. And now Sally can't even find him. He's d... View more info

THE ROSE OF YORK: LOVE & WAR

By: Worth, Sandra

Price: ¥2,000.00

Publisher: Metropolis Ink/End Table Boo: 2003

Seller ID: RWARE0000009039

ISBN: 0975126407

Condition: As New


How could Shakespeare's notorious villain have given society Blind Justice and the Presumption of Innocence? Hailed as a classic, meticulously-researc hed The Rose of York: Love & War reveals the truth about Richard III. Award -winning novelist Sandra Worth shows how his life impacts ours in a story o f war and peace, love and hate, right and wrong, affording stunning modern parallels. View more info

Image for TONY I SUSAN

TONY I SUSAN

By: Wright, Austin

Price: ¥350.00

Publisher: Warner Books: 1994

Seller ID: RWARE0000000026

ISBN: 0446601055

Condition: Near Fine


25 years after their divorce a man who had been a struggling novelist sends his ex-wife a manuscript of the book he has finally written, a masterful p sychological thriller, asking her opinion. An arresting story-within-a-stor y.--This text refers to the. View more info

ALL WORLDLY PURSUITS

By: Wright, Hillel

Price: ¥800.00

Publisher: New Orphic Publishers: 2001

Seller ID: RWARE0000024285

ISBN: 0968731767

Condition: Near Fine


A clean softcover, no markings throughout, NOT an ex-lib book: Hillel Wright's first novel is a storm-driven journey through the psychedelic hippie era into dangerous and turbulent seas, both real and metaphorical. Through the adventures of characters in search of permanence which they cannot find and which might very well not exist, we meet members of the American Indian Movement, lovers both sacred and profane, and a fisherman who is married to the sea and quite likel... View more info

RIVER ROAD

By: Wright, Hillel

Price: ¥800.00

Publisher: Printed Matter Press: 2012

Seller ID: RWARE0000024274

ISBN: 1933606282

Condition: Fine


A clean softcover, no markings throughout, NOT an ex-lib book: A novel of six stories. A bit of fantasy. A bit of Japan. If you like Hillel Wright's books and stories, you should like this. Not just fiction, he is a journalist who has long reported on Japan's fishing industry. If you don't know Hillel's writing, this book is a good place to begin. Enjoyable fiction. View more info

Image for KIDNAP

KIDNAP

By: Wright, L. R.

Price: ¥300.00

Publisher: Seal Books: 2001

Seller ID: RWARE0000018628

ISBN: 0770427960

Condition: Very Good


In the tradition of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell, to whom L.R. Wright is oft en compared, the suspense in Kidnap stems not from whodunnit but why. A you ng girl is taken from her aunt's care while her father is in Hawaii trying to recover from his wife's sudden death. A middle-aged woman, spurred on by an unscrupulous accomplice, tries to assuage her feelings of loneliness an d despair with a dramatic act of revenge. Edwina "Eddie" Henderson, battlin g to assert h... View more info

THE SUSPECT

By: Wright, L. R.

Price: ¥350.00

Publisher: Penguin Books: 1987

Seller ID: RWARE0000033596

ISBN: 0140104771

Condition: Very Good


The Edgar Award-winning novel of hidden secrets, haunting guilt and murder- -set in a town near Vancouver on Canada's Sunshine Coast. For no apparent r eason a man murders his old acquaintance after only a short chat. View more info

THE OUTSIDER

By: Wright, Richard

Price: ¥500.00

Publisher: Perennial: 1993

Seller ID: RWARE0000014073

ISBN: 0060812486

Condition: Very Good


The Outsider is Richard Wright's compelling story of a black man's attempt to escape his past. View more info