Ackroyd, Peter Listings

If you cannot find what you want on this page, then please use our search feature to search all our listings.

Click on Title to view full description

 
1 Ackroyd, Peter BLAKE
Vintage 1996 0749391766 / 9780749391768 Paperback Very Good 
16 pages of black-and-white and 24 pages of full-color illustrations, plus 73 illustrations in text. 
Price: 650.00 JPY
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
2 Ackroyd, Peter DAN LENO AND THE LIMEHOUSE GOLEM
Minerva 1995 074939515X / 9780749395155 Paperback Good 
In this novel the light and the dark sides of 19th-century London flow into each other, attracting the attention of famous names such as Marx and Giss ing, but also of less-well-known characters, who play a significant role in a tale that is a mixture of fable, adventure and Gothic comedy. 
Price: 450.00 JPY
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
3 Ackroyd, Peter FOUNDATION: THE HISTORY OF ENGLAND FROM ITS EARLIEST BEGINNINGS TO THE TUDO RS
Thomas Dunne Books 2012 125000361X / 9781250003614 Hardback Very Good/Very Good 
A copy that has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. The first book in Peter Ackroyd's history of England series, which has sinc e been followed up with two more installments, Tudors and Rebellion. In Foundation, the chronicler of London and of its river, the Thames, takes us from the primeval forests of England's prehistory to the death, in 1509 , of the first Tudor king, Henry VII. He guides us from the building of Sto nehenge to the founding of the two great glories of medieval England: commo n law and the cathedrals. He shows us glimpses of the country's most distan t past--a Neolithic stirrup found in a grave, a Roman fort, a Saxon tomb, a medieval manor house--and describes in rich prose the successive waves of invaders who made England English, despite being themselves Roman, Viking, Saxon, or Norman French. With his extraordinary skill for evoking time and place and his acute eye for the telling detail, Ackroyd recounts the story of warring kings, of civil strife, and foreign wars. But he also gives us a vivid sense of how England's early people lived: the homes they built, the clothes the wore, the food they ate, even the jokes they told. All are brought vividly to life in this history of England through the narrative mastery of one of Britain's finest writers. 
Price: 1000.00 JPY
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
4 Ackroyd, Peter MILTON IN AMERICA
Random House of Canada, Limi 1997 0749386258 / 9780749386252 Paperback Very Good 
The poet John Milton is transposed to the New World, where he has travelled to flee the tyranny of the Old. His adventures with his amanuensis, Gooseq uill, are by turns picaresque and delightful. However, Paradise Found will ultimately be lost in the most appalling and bloody circumstances. 
Price: 500.00 JPY
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
5 Ackroyd, Peter THE LAMBS OF LONDON
London: Chatto & Windus, 200 2004 0701177446 / 9780701177447 First Hardcover Near Fine/Near Fine Signed
A crisp clean signed first edition no markings throughout, not an ex-lib: A tour de force in the tradition of Peter Ackroyd's Hawksmoor and Chatterton, a gripping novel of betrayal and deceit set in the teeming streets of nineteenth-century London. 
Price: 2000.00 JPY
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
6 Ackroyd, Peter THE LAST TESTAMENT OF OSCAR WILDE
Penguin Books Ltd 1993 0140171118 / 9780140171112 Paperback Good 
Oscar Wilde never wrote a last testament during his isolation in Paris. Thi s book takes the known facts about Oscar Wilde and converts them into a fic tional portrait of the artist and memoir of a life of great contrast - a ca reer which ended with a catastrophic fall from public favour. 
Price: 500.00 JPY
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 

 

Visa Logo   Paypal Logo   Mastercard Logo

Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to info@Infinitybooksjapan.com
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie